Board Minutes – 4-13-2020

MFL MarMac Community School
Public Hearing and Regular Monthly Minutes
April 13, 2020

The MFL MarMac Board of Education held it’s Budget Hearing and Regular Meeting on April 13, 2020, in the high school media center of the Monona schoolhouse.

President Roys called the meeting to order at 6:06 pm. Members present were: Gina Roys, Tonya Meyer, Roberta Hass, Brian Meyer, Collin Stubbs, Josh Grau and Jon Moser. Stubbs and Moser attended via Zoom and Grau via telephone. Principals, Larry Meyer, Denise Mueller and Kathy Koether, were present via Zoom. Guests were welcomed and recognized. Dr. Dale Crozier, Superintendent, and Karla Hanson, Board Secretary, were also present.

Motion by Tonya Meyer, seconded by Jon Moser to approve the agenda as presented. The motion was unanimously carried.

Motion by Roberta Hass, seconded by Brian Meyer to approve the following items from the agenda:

  • Minutes from the March 9, 2020, board meeting.
  • Bills against the district as listed: General Fund: $112,141.86; Capital Projects:
    $35,903.81; Management Fund: $500.00; Enterprise Fund: $540.00; PPEL: $55,945.63; Little Bulldog Childcare: $8,893.25; Dr Smith Childcare: $ 2,410.58; Clearing Account:$27,899.01; Food Service: $20,185.94
  • The Secretary’s Report, Activity Report, and Food Service Report will be filed subject to audit.

Motion unanimously carried.

The Public Hearing regarding the 2020-2021 Budget opened at 6:10 p.m. Motion by Tonya Meyer at 6:12 p.m. to close the public hearing. Motion seconded by Brian Meyer. Roll call vote: All Ayes. Motion carried.

Motion by Brian Meyer, seconded by Jon Moser, to accept the resignations of Monika Schwartzhoff (Teacher), Audrey Posten (Yearbook), and Melissa Haberichter (Yearbook). Resignation pending replacement of Jillian Burke (7th Grade Basketball). Approval of contracts for the following: Colton Lueck, Middle School, Kaitlyn Stone-Strock, 7-12 Band and corresponding contracts, Jake Wilke, 9-12 Special Education and Golf, Brandi Folsom, High School English, Madyson Walker, Middle School and .5 Yearbook, Megan Snitker, .5 Yearbook. Transfer of Amber Hendricks to Upper Elementary. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion by Brian Meyer, seconded by Josh Grau, to approve 101% Budget Guarantee Resolution to levy property tax for fiscal year 2020-21 for the regular program budget adjustment as allowed under section 257.14, Code of Iowa, if necessary. Roll call vote: All Ayes. Motion carried.

Motion by Jon Moser, seconded by Tonya Meyer to approve the 2020-2021 Budget as presented. Roll call vote: All Ayes. Motion carried.

Motion by Jon Moser, seconded by Roberta Hass to approve the operational sharing contracts for Superintendent with Eastern Allamakee; Curriculum Director with Allamakee and Central; Transportation Director with Postville, Guidance Counselor with Postville, and Librarian with Clayton Ridge. Motion unanimously carried

Motion by Tonya Meyer, seconded by Brian Meyer, to file the 2019 Audit. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion by Jon Moser, seconded by Josh Grau, to approve the resolution endorsing required and recommended actions on coronavirus. It was noted that the goal of the School Board is to continue working for the greater public purpose of our district. Roll call vote: All Ayes. Motion unanimously carried.

Dr. Crozier detailed the succession plan that is in place with neighboring districts in the event he or the Business Manager fall ill to COVID19 and are unable to carry on their duties. He also discussed possibly beginning the bidding process on the elementary improvements and addition.

The principals reported that teachers are working to reach out to students and offer educational opportunities for them while the school is closed. Elementary teachers are sending out packets of information and Ryan Martindale worked to make ensure elementary and middle school students have access to iPads. The number of meetings being conducted via Zoom, Google Meet and other methods has been overwhelming as we deal with the ever-changing landscape of COVID19.

The next board meeting will be held in the McGregor Schoolhouse Library at 6:00 pm on May 11, 2020.

President Roys adjourned the meeting at 6:34 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,
Karla Hanson, Board Secretary